Monday, May 9, 2011

Teachings of Buddhism as flashed on the f.b. on May 5,2011.

Bishwa Nath Singh

The primary teachings shared by all schools of Buddhism are the Four Noble Truths, the Eightfold Path and the Precepts. Within these teachings are woven the Buddhist doctrines of suffering , the five aggregates of being , no-self , ethics, karma, rebirth, enlightenment and Nirvana.The main aim of life, as per Buddhism, is the extinction of suffering. By recognizing the four noble truths of life and following the noble eightfold path, one can end the suffering in life and that is the main salient feature of Buddhism.


( Photo of Lord Buddha).

Share: You, Nikhil Singh, Kaushal Bansal, Sachin Sharma Sethji and 6 others like this.

Bishwa Nath Singh :
The said picture is that of deity of Gautam Buddha who was previously known as Prince Siddhartha .He was born in the year 623 B.C., in Lumbini at Kapilavatthu that is situated at present in Nepal close to our Indian border. His father was... King Suddhodana of the Sakya clan and that was the reason that Buddha was often known as "Sakyamuni" and his mother was Queen Maha Maya. The queen had died seven days after his birth. In his youth Siddhartha was married to Yashodhara and had a son called Rahul. At the age of twenty nine years he had left the life of luxury in search of true meaning of human life. After practicing asceticism and long intense meditation in Bodh Gaya that is in Gaya district of Bihar State of India at the age of thirty five years He had attained, enlightenment at Bodh Gaya beneath a Papal tree and was there after known as Gautam Buddha means the Enlightened One.He gave his first public sermon in the Deer Park at Sarnath, near Varanasi in U.P.State of India, setting in motion the wheel of the Dharma ( spiritual law) as He had expounded the doctrine of the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path. After teaching for forty five years at the age of eighty the Buddha entered into a deep trance and died peacefully in Kushinagar close to the headquater of Deoria District of U.P. in India.After his death Buddhism split into number of schools the two main schools being termed "Hinayana," or "Lesser Vehicle" and "Mahayana," or "Greater Vehicle." Mahayana school propounded a goal of universal salvation, while the Hinayana emphasized the importance of working primarily for one's own emancipation. The Mahayana ideal is the 'bodhisattva' a person who seeks to attain the state of Buddha hood in order to help others to find the path to final happiness. The Hinayana ideal being is one who overcomes all ties to the phenomenal world and so attains nirvana, which is said to be a state beyond birth and death. It is also described as perfect bliss.Spread of Buddhism to neighboring Asian countries took place during the reign of King Ashoka and other rulers of Maurya and Gupta period. Mahayana school of Buddhism became predominated in Central and East Asia-countries such as Tibet, Mongolia, Korea, Japan, Vietnam, and China, while Hinayana schools took is dominant in Southeast Asia, in such countries as Sri Lanka, Thailand, Burma, and Cambodia. Revival of Hinduism in India with advent of Sankaracharya and Ramanuja saw a decline of Buddhism in India. The all-encompassing Hindu religion accepted Buddha as an incarnation of God (Lord Vishnu). Muslims invasion of India in the beginning of second millennium led to the large-scale destruction of Buddhist Monasteries, Viharas, Stupas. The ancient Universities Nalanda University Vikramshila, Odantapura, Jagddala were totally destroyed by Mohammed Bakhtiar Khilji around 1200 A.D. resulting in destruction of an invaluable collection of books and scriptures. With the Muslim onslaught, Buddhism, which was already on decline, nearly had come to an end in India.In Buddhism, it is firmly believed that one can escape from the vicious cycle of birth and death by following the noble eightfold path, consisting of the following eight steps: (1)Right Actions (2)Right Concentration (3)Right Effort/Exercise (4)Right Livelihood (5)Right Mindfulness /Awareness (6)Right Speech (7)Right Thoughts and (8)Right Understanding . The Four Noble Truths, forming the essence of Buddhism, are: (A)The Noble Truth of Suffering (B)The Noble Truth of the Origin of Suffering (C)The Noble Truth of the Cessation of Suffering and ( D)The Noble Truth that leads to the Extinction of Suffering .Let us inculcate good ness of Buddhism in our life to make our life blissful free from any miseries and sorrows!

Like: · 2 people

Amar Singh Rana :
It is a great that History speaks it self about Honorable Mahatma Bhdh.


May 5,2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.