Tuesday, October 12, 2010

The Political history of formation of Pakistan as flashed by me on the f.b on October 11,2010.

Bishwanath Singh :
There must be many specially youth may not be aware of Political history of birth of Pakistan.So, it will be befitting to have a glimpse of it so that People at large could know about it. It could be seen below.

Aravind Pandey likes this..

Bishwanath Singh :
The political history of Pakistan began with the birth of the All India Muslim League in 1906 to protect Muslim interests, amid fears of neglect and under-representation of Muslims, in case the British Raj decided to grant local self-rule. ...On the 29 th of December of 1930, Muhammad Iqbal called for an autonomous state in "northwestern India for Indian Muslims". The Muslim League rose to popularity in the late 1930s. Muhammad Ali Jinnah espoused the Two Nation Theory and led the Muslim League to adopt the Lahore Resolution of 1940, demanding the formation of independent states for Muslims in the East and the West of British India. Eventually, a united Pakistan with two wings - West Pakistan and East Pakistan - gained independence from the British, on the14 of August 1947. Modern-day Pakistan came in existence in 1971, after a civil war in the distant East Pakistan and emergence of an independent Bangladesh. Independence from the Brish Raj witnessed unprecedented and prolonged communal riots across India eventually resulting in millions of Muslims migrating to Pakistan. The princely state of Kashmir, a Muslim-majority region, was invaded by a Pakistani Pashtun tribal militia in October 1947, after its Hindu Maharaja's continued hesitancy to accede to Pakistan, and these tribals had already reached the capital, Srinagar by the 25 th of October 1947. On the 26 th of October 1947 the Indian invasion of Kashmir took place, after the Maharaja's controversial accession to India, therefore starting the 1947 war that culminated in a United Nations' brokered armistice and an unresolved Kashmir dispute. The 1965 War and the Kargil War were also focused on Kashmir. India also began the Siachen conflict in 1984 by successfully invading and taking control of the Siachen Glacier from Pakistan.Pakistan declared itself an Islamic republic on adoption of a constitution in 1956, but the civilian rule was stalled by the 1958 military coup d'etat by Ayub Khan, who ruled during a period of internal instability and a second war with India in 1965. Economic grievances and political dissent in East Pakistan led to violent political tensions and army repression, escalating into civil war followed by the third war with India. Pakistan's defeat in the war ultimately led to the secession of East Pakistan and the birth of Bangladesh. Pak.Civilian rule resumed from 1972 to 1977 under Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, until he was deposed by General Zia-ul-Haq, who became the country's third military president. Pakistan's secular policies were replaced by the Islamic Shariah legal code, which increased religious influences on the civil service and the military. With the death of Zia-ul-Haq in 1988, Benazir Bhutto, daughter of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, was elected as the first female Prime Minister of Pakistan. Over the next decade, she alternated power with Nawaz Sharif, as the country's political and economic situation worsened. Military tensions in the Kargil conflict with India were followed by a 1999 coup d'état in which General Pervez Musharraf assumed executive powers. This occurred due to the defeat of Pakistan by India in Kargil and the economic hardship that followed after the Kargil conflict.In 2001, Musharraf named himself President after the resignation of Rafiq Tarar. In the 2002 Parliamentary Elections, Musharraf transferred executive powers to newly elected Prime Minister Zafarullah Khan Jamali, who was succeeded in the 2004 by Shaukat Aziz. On 15 November 2007 the National Assembly completed its term and a caretaker government was appointed with the former Chairman of The Senate, Muhammad Mian Soomro as Prime Minister. Following the assassination of Benazir Bhutto, that resulted in a series of important political developments, her husband Asif Ali Zardari was eventually elected as the new President in 2008 who is continuing.

Like 1 personYou like this.
October 11,2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.