Wednesday, April 6, 2011

We worship Shailputri -the first form of Goddess Durga today as flashed on the f.b. on April4,2011

Bishwa Nath Singh

Navadurga are the nine forms of Goddess Durga collectively worshipped by the devotees of Shakti (Power). Nine forms of Goddess Durga have been very well described in the Devi Mahatmya which are Sailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Maha Gowri and Siddhidayini. -these nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped during the nine days of Navratri. Today is the first day of Chaiti Navratri when we worship the first form of Goddess Durga-Shailputri.

(Picture of Goddess Durga's first form of Goddess Shailputri)

Share: You, Birendra Kumar, Amit Kumar, Gr Kalyani and 6 others like this.

Sachin Sharma Sethji :
Jai Mata Di...

Bishwa Nath Singh :

Shailputri is the first form of Goddess Durga who possesses two-armed and carries a trident and lotus who mounts on an ox. Shailputri is believed to be the rebirth of Sati, the daughter of Daksha and the wife of Lord Shiva. In her second bi...rth she is Parvati, the daughter of Himalaya and later she became the consort of Shiva. This is one of the very first forms of Shakti (Power) and is closely associated with Lord Shiva. Shailaputri is worshipped on the first day of Navaratri. She is the daughter of Himalaya and first among nine Durgas who holds trishul in the right hand and a flower in the left hand. Wearing White/Red color is described auspicious on this day Let us pay our humble obeisance to the lotus feet of Shailpuri and seek her bliss for well-being of all living-being of this universe!


Like · 2 people

.Anil Kumar :

Om Jayanti Manglakali Bhadrakali Kapaalini,

Durga Kshamaa Shivadhatri Swaaha Sudha Namostute.


April 4,2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.